Love Yourself First

CeVGNXGUUAAmsfE

Growing up in the 21st Century it’s easy to find relationships so appealing, you have Disney movies growing up as a child, then Nicolas Sparks’ movies as a teen, and lastly movies like Fifty Shades of Grey in your 20’s. We’re programmed to always consider relationships to be something a girl should strive for. Depending on your culture you’re also inclined to grow up treating the men in your family a certain way, whether it’s obeying their every order or catering to their every need or just staying silent when you’re around them.

I can’t even begin to express how much this bothers me. Yesterday at our mid-week service at Keeping It Real Church the service was about Defying All Odds. These odds can be anything from failing a test to the most difficult of circumstances like losing someone dear to you, I just want you to remember that this current situation that you find yourself is temporary and I beg of you to not let it consume you. In the service Isaac said that the odds you’re facing are so intimidated by you, they know you have it in you to overcome and it’s up to you to walk with God and know that through Him all things are possible.

You can do this, whatever is standing in your way from achieving something will not stop you. You are a strong force to be reckoned with, let those obstacles you’re facing know it! Remember that your current situation is not your final destination and you are not your failures or mistakes. Also, just because your family has had a certain track record does not mean you are destined to follow in their footsteps- you can always pave the way to something greater and I have faith that you will. I know that in times that are hard that’s the easiest time to give up on God, but know this, God will never give up on you.

As a female I have learned a few things, you either become someone else’s perception of you or you become your own. I used to care what people thought about me or being in a relationship but I honestly don’t see the point in being with someone if your heart is not in it. I rather work on myself and accomplish my goals before ever joining my life to someone else’s when I still have things that I need to do on my own. I don’t see anything wrong with taking a break from relationships and things they entail to really focus on YOU. You matter, because at the end of the day who do you have to look at in the mirror? Yourself. I ask you to take time out of the day or week and journal or read a book for pleasure, or go to your favorite spot to think and spend some quality time with you.

Enjoy & Relax

XO

Leave a Reply

