When Opportunity Knocks 

#repost @wisdomfeed on instagram

This week has been full of enlightenment. I am insanely grateful for every moment that I am blessed with. I’m so lucky to be surrounded with like-minded individuals who always want to see me do better, who encourage me to pursue my dreams as well as setting high expectations for myself.

It is so easy to become content; in life, in your job, with your partner, or simply with yourself.  While I don’t think there is anything wrong with being content, I do think that being content for too long can be harmful. We should always be setting new goals for ourselves, wanting to better ourselves and pursuing things that are out of our comfort zone. Comfort zones are just that, comfortable. It’s like sitting on a comfortable couch and watching tv; at first you say it’ll be for one show then next thing you know you’ve been on the couch for hours with a large portion of your day wasted. This is what we do in life, we stay content and we waste portions of our lives.

I was blessed enough to receive a great blessing in relation to work this week and it was a reminder that we should always be pushing ourselves to do better, and aim higher. There is always something you can do to become greater, practice only makes you a better version of yourself. I know much of the hesitation in regards to this is fear; of failure, of not getting the position you wanted, of being rejected. Why do we see failure as a bad thing? In my eyes I see failure as a motivation. It shows that I actually tried. You must grow to embrace all your obstacles and let downs because they are in reality redirections.

I feel as though often times God creates a fork in the road and when we think we should go one way he closes that door and instead opens two more. I recently heard this from a wise man who said “there will always be great opportunities in life, but they won’t always be right for you.” God is always one step ahead of you. It’s okay to not know what is ahead of you, just be excited because God will only have good things in store for you. You need to let go of being content and learn to embrace the new opportunities that God has in store for you.

(The following is optional)

Prayer: God, thank you for always worrying about me and my success. Thank you for always keeping the good people in my life and showing me who is not healthy for me to be around and finding a way for them to exit my life. You know what I need before I realize it and I am so grateful that you will always have a plan even when I don’t. I thank you and I love you. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

